2019 Tanis Doe Award for Canadian Disability Study and Culture

16th Annual Conference of the

Canadian Disability Studies Association

Association canadienne d’études sur le handicap

June 1-3, 2019

University of British Columbia

Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences


The CDSA-ACÉH Tanis Doe Award for Canadian Disability Study and Culture was first awarded in 2009, and is named for the activist and professor, Tanis Doe, who passed away in 2004. This award honours an individual who dares to “speak the unspeakable” in advancing the study and culture of disability, and who has enriched through research, teaching, or activism, the lives of Canadians with disabilities. CDSA-ACÉH is grateful for the support and permission of Tanis’s family to honour her achievements in Disability Studies with this award.

To be nominated the nominee must be either a Canadian or a Permanent Resident who works in Canada. Any individual can submit a nomination, but an individual may only submit one nomination in any award-cycle year. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Letters of Nomination should be 1 to 3 pages in length and include:

  1. Name, affiliation, phone number, complete mailing address, and email address of the nominee.
  2. Name and contact information for the person making the nomination.
  3. The research, teaching, art, service or advocacy achievement or achievements of the nominee that merit consideration for this award.
  4. A brief biographical sketch of the nominee.

Please send your nominations to cdsa.aceh@gmail.com. The deadline for nominations is March 1st, 2019.

Please note: Nominations will be adjudicated on the following criteria:

  • research and connection to disability justice and scholarship
  • teaching and scholarship in disability studies and related areas
  • engagement in advancement of equity and disability justice
  • achievement within disability studies communities or disability justice movements

The winner of the 2019 Tanis Doe Award will be acknowledged at the 2019 CDSA-ACÉH conference and will receive:

  • 2019 CDSA-ACÉH Conference registration fee (applicable only if the recipient attends the conference) and an invitation to present at the conference
  • Membership in CDSA-ACÉH for 2019-2020
  • Invitation to submit a paper to peer-review for the Canadian Journal of Disability Studies for possible publication in the journal
  • Invitation to write an article for the CDSA-ACÉH Newsletter

About Tanis Doe

Tanis Doe did innovative work on participatory action research, disability, abuse, women, employment, assistive technology, and advocacy. She was a professor of social work and disability studies at the University of Victoria, and also taught at Royal Roads University, Ryerson University, and the University of Washington. She was a 2003 Fulbright Scholar in Bioethics at the University of Washington. She conducted research for innumerable organizations in both Canada and the United States, and consulted with organizations around the world.

As a Métis (Ojibway/French Canadian) Deaf woman with other disabilities who was active in disability, queer, and feminist movements internationally, Tanis Doe was widely respected as a disability rights advocate and as an educator that provided leadership training and personal mentorship to untold numbers of scholars and advocates across the Western Hemisphere.

In Tanis’s words, “Some of us have become visible citizens of that other place, using our bodies as our passports. People with disabilities are frightening to the non-disabled because our citizenship is made clear. In and with our bodies, we testify to both the existence and proximity of that Otherland.”

Past Award Recipients

2018: Esther Ignagni, Ryerson University
2017: Gregor Wolbring, University of Calgary
2016: Shelley Tremain, non-affiliated
2015: Patricia Seth and Marie Slark, non-affiliated
2014: Tanya Titchkosky, University of Toronto
2013: Marcia Rioux, York University
2012: Roy Hanes, Carleton University
2011: Jerome Bickenbach, Queens University
2010: Heidi Janz, University of Alberta
2009: Diane Driedger, University of Manitoba/Independent Living Canada

Francophone Tanis Doe Award

2017: Normand Boucher, Université Laval
2016: Laurence Parent, Concordia University
2015: Patrick Fougeyrollas, l’Université Laval



Prix Tanis Doe de la CDSA-ACÉH 2019

pour les études canadiennes sur le handicap et la culture

15è colloque annuel

de l’Association canadienne d’études sur le handicap

1er au 3 juin 2019

University of British Columbia

Congrès des sciences humaines


Le prix Tanis Doe de la CDSA-ACÉH pour les études canadiennes sur le handicap et la culture a été décerné pour la première fois en 2009. Son nom s’inspire de l’activiste et professeure Tanis Doe, décédée en 2004. Ce prix cherche à distinguer une personne qui ose « dire l’indicible », tout en faisant avancer les études sur le handicap et la culture, et qui a contribué, par sa recherche, par son enseignement ou par son militantisme, à améliorer la vie des Canadiennes et des Canadiens en situation de handicap. La CDSA-ACÉH remercie le soutien et l’autorisation de la famille de Tanis, car ce prix permet d’honorer ses réalisations dans le domaine des études sur le handicap.


Critères pour la nomination des candidates et des candidats : le ou la candidat/e est citoyen/ne canadien/ne ou résident/e permanent/e travaillant au Canada. Les candidatures peuvent être soumises par quiconque, mais la personne qui propose une candidature peut soumettre seulement une par année d’attribution. Les autonominations ne seront pas acceptées.


Les lettres des mises en nomination ne devraient pas avoir moins d’une page ni plus de trois. Elles doivent inclure :

  1. Le nom, la filiation, le numéro de téléphone, l’adresse postale complète ainsi que l’adresse courriel de la personne nominée ;
  2. Le nom et les coordonnées de la personne qui propose la candidature ;
  3. Le travail de recherche, d’enseignement, le travail artistique ou les activités de militantisme ou de promotion du/de la candidat/e qui font qu’il/elle mériterait ce prix ;
  4. Une brève notice biographique du/de la candidat/e

Veuillez envoyer la nomination à: cdsa.acei@gmail.com, sachant que la date limite est le 1er mars 2019


Veuillez noter que les candidatures seront évaluées en fonction des critères suivants :


  • Recherche et engagement envers le savoir sur le handicap et les droits des personnes en situation de handicap ;
  • Enseignement et savoir en études du handicap et domaines connexes ;
  • Engagement dans l’avancement de l’équité et de la justice pour les personnes en situation de handicap ;
  • Réalisations au sein des communautés d’études sur le handicap ou des mouvements de défense des droits des personnes en situation de handicap.


Le ou la gagnant/e du prix CDSA-ACÉH Tanis Doe 2019 sera reconnu/e lors du Colloque 2019 de la CDSA-ACÉH et recevra :

  • Les frais d’inscription pour le Colloque annuel 2019 de la CDSA-ACÉH (si le gagnant y assiste) ainsi qu’une invitation à faire une présentation dans le cadre du colloque ;
  • L’adhésion à la CDSA-ACÉH pour l’année 2019-2020 ;
  • Une invitation à soumettre un article évalué par les pairs à la Revue canadienne d’études sur le handicap pour une éventuelle publication dans la revue ;
  • Une invitation à écrire un article pour le bulletin CDSA-ACÉH.